XLR8R - logo

  • Filed under: News
  • 05/17/2013

Listen to A Guy Called Gerald's Three-Part, 150-Plus Minute Mix

Electronic music pioneer and UK mainstay Gerald Simpson (a.k.a. A Guy Called Gerald) presumably needs no introduction. Simpson has made a large impact on multiple facets of dance music throughout his career, beginning with acid house (where he enjoyed a role in the 808 State trio), jungle and drum & bass, and then back to techno and house. We saw a glimpse of this most recent transition as part of his MUTEK podcast for XLR8R last year, and yesterday the producer unveiled a sprawling new, three-volume mix. Entitled After the After Selection for its first two parts, and simply The After Selection for its third, Simpson crafts a truly after-hours mix, beginning mid-stream and primarily focusing on deep house but gradually weaving more acid, jack, and electro cuts into the fold as the set rolls on. The three-part effort was stealthily uploaded to Simpson's SoundCloud, and is available to stream as seperate volumes one, two, and three. (via FACT)

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player