XLR8R - logo


Various Artists Soul 7

Stones Throw's Egon compiled this box set of funk 7-inches from the '60s and '70s and you know it's hot, so crack a window and check the non-stop throbbing bass on Soul Seven's "Mr. Chicken." The rock don't stop, even when the record gets flipped over to "The Cissy's Thang." From Billy Ball & The Upsetter's funkier-than-Willie-Mitchell "Popcorn 69" to the doleful organ and guitar on Booker T. Averheart's "Heart N Soul" and past Soul Vibrations' "The Dump" (you know that's nasty) to Ernie and the Top Notes' impossibly raw "Dap Walk," this box is funkier than summer ass sweat.

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player