XLR8R - logo


Various Hot Shit: Sonic Mook Experiment

The previous Sonic Mook Experiment comps bore the subtitle "Future Rock & Roll." The "hot shit" on volume three ain't futuristic at all. Most of the bands here pay homage to Brit post-punks the Fall and Gang Of Four, NY art funk minimalists ESG, and the obscure mid-'80s roster of Ron Johnson Records (think angular, spasmodic noise-rock by guys who can't get laid). Only old fuckers who read NME in the '80s would know the source of this bass-heavy aggro-rock; to anyone else, it'll sound as fresh as tomorrow. Featuring Yeah Yeah Yeahs, !!!, Radio 4, and lots of brilliant groups you've never heard of.

Follow us on...

Get the lowdown weekly newsletter

XLR8R Downloads Player