Headlock "High Beams"

New York-based artist Lou DiBenedetto (a.k.a. Headlock) will inaugurate the city's budding Sci-Fi & Fantasy label with its first LP release on October 29. Headlock's self-titled debut is a pool of ambient improvisations that intentionally shy from drum sounds, samples, and vocals in favor of pure synth explorations. Taken from that release, "High Beams" ebbs and flows in a slow morass of fleeting pads, creating a wistful, reflective mood that sounds resigned to the world's disorder. With the piece, DiBenedetto reflects an endgame state of history, but one that could also be a beginning. The artwork and tracklist for Headlock can be perused after the jump.

1. Coax
2. Trails
3. B
4. Don't
5. High Beams
6. Spell
7. Stretcher
8. Last Track of All Last Tracks
9. Premier

High Beams

Previous post

Listen to Shlohmo's Remix of Samo Sound Boy

Next post

Richie Hawtin, Skream, Ben UFO, and More to Play Red Bull Revolutions in Sound