P.U.D.G.E. "Didn't Wanna DJ"

Publish date:
Updated on

Austin's Insect Records is getting ready to release a massive compilation of forward-looking funk and soul tracks made by over 20 producers from around the globe, and this sample-heavy jam is its flagship offering. "Didn't Wanna DJ" is LA beatmaker P.U.D.G.E.'s contibution to Starship 27 Vol. 2: Lift Off, which is squeezed in between tunes from the likes of Dibia$e, House Shoes, Devonwho, Dâm-Funk, B. Bravo, and Ras G, among many others. The boom-slapping tune steadily rides a few psychedelic samples—lifted from an obscure Indian record no doubt—for the entirety of its nearly three-minute runtime, with just enough space left in the mix for aggro bass tones, warbling space noise, and the occasional drop of silence. You can check out the artwork and full tracklist for Starship 27 Vol. 2 below, before it drops on March 29.

1) Intro
2) A-Llive - Didn't I
3) Jordan Rockswell - Air
4) Dibia$e - Attention
5) Flame Brown (a.ka. Waajeed) - Blues & Pants
6) J1 - Slang Talk
7) House Shoes - Castles
8) P.U.D.G.E. - Didn't Wanna DJ
9) C.F.C. (J.Bizness & Ayiro) - Reason
10) I-Ced - Westcoast Rock
11) Black Spade & Coultrain - B Wit U
12) Eric Lau - 8001
13) F.A.M.E. - Superfuturisticfunkalatapus
14) Dâm-Funk - I Don't Just Do Beats
15) Devonwho - Somethingelseagain
16) B. Bravo - Midnite
17) Kone - Funk 3481
18) Computer Jay - The Slapper
19) Ras-G - Try-Angles
20) Outro
21) Nofrendo - Deepspace Heartache (Digital Only)

Didn't Wanna DJ

Didn't Wanna DJ