Battles Announce New Album, 'Gloss Drop'

The talk has been brewing for some time: Ever since Tyondai Braxton announced he would be leaving Battles, and the remaining trio said it would soldier on without him, a follow-up record to 2007's monumental Mirrored has been imminent. And now, we're finally seeing the light at the end of that tunnel. On June 7, John Stainer, Ian Williams, and David Konopka will release the second Battles LP through Warp, called Gloss Drop. The 12-song album features vocal contributions from Matias Aguayo, Gary Numan, Yamantaka Eye (of Boredoms), and Kazu Makino (of Blonde Readhead). The new full-length can also be pre-ordered through Bleep here. The anticipation is palpable!