Video: RP Boo "Speakers R-4 (Sounds)"

Chicago's RP Boo (a.k.a. Kavain Space) is a true footwork originator, and like other progenitors of the genre—such as DJ Rashad and Traxman—has only recently been getting the recognition he deserves. This is, in a large part, thanks to Planet Mu, who will be releasing his debut full-length, Legacy, on May 14. The producer's early releases are cited as essentially inventing the footwork genre with their unique ways of sampling and cutting up hip-hop tracks—sounds which are then matched with relentless, syncopated rhythms. "Speakers R-4 (Sounds)" is an aggressively clanging, dense track which creates the illusion of space with a pulsating, minimal drum pattern as it continues assaulting the listener with rapid-fire vocal samples and rattling snares. Directed by Jonathan Toomey (who has previously directed videos for Oneohtrix Point Never, Robedoor, and Young Smoke), RP Boo's video is minimal, hypnotic, and appropriately epilepsy-inducing. It makes for a great visual accompaniment to the sounds lifted off the forthcoming Legacy, the details of which can be found below.

1. Steamidity
2. Invisibu Boogie!
3. Red Hot
4. There U’Go Boi
5. Battle In The Jungle
6. The Opponent
7. 187 Homicide
8. Speakers R-4 (Sounds)
9. Havoc Devastation
10. No Return
11. Robotbutizm
12. Sentimental
13. What’Cha-Gonna Du
14. Area 72