Matmos' Drew Daniel Readies New LP as The Soft Pink Truth

After remaining dormant for ten years, The Soft Pink Truth (a.k.a. Drew Daniel, better known as one half of adventurous electronic pair Matmos) will release a new full-length record, Why Do the Heathen Rage, via the venerable Thrill Jockey imprint next month. The forthcoming album will be made up entirely of electronic covers of classic black metal songs ranging from the anthemic “Buried by Time and Frost” by Mayhem, to the more esoteric “Grim and Frostbitten Gay Bar” by Impaled Northern Moonforest. Prior to the LP’s release, Daniel has shared his cover of “Black Metal,” which sees the longstanding producer twist the thrash metal epic into a harsh, dry, and almost industrial production, which, as Daniel puts it, both “celebrates black metal and offers queer critique/ mockery/ profanation of its ideological morass in equal measure.”

The official release date for The Soft Pink Truth's Why Do The Heathen Rage LP is June 17. In the meantime, "Black Metal" can be streamed via the player below, where the record's tracklist has also been included.

01 Invocation for Strength
02 Black Metal (Originally performed by Venom)
03 Sadomatic Rites (Originally performed by Beherit)
04 Ready to Fuck (Originally performed by Sarcofago)
05 Stanic Black Devotion (Originally performed by Sargeist)
06 Beholding the Throne of Might (Originally performed by Darkthrone)
07 Let There Be Ebola Frost (Originally performed by An)
08 Buried by Time and Dust (Originally performed by Mayhem)
09 Maniac (Originally performed by Hellhammer)
10 Grim and Frostbitten Gay Bar (Originally performed by Impaled Northern Moonforest)