Avey Tare Readies October Release of New Solo Album

Publish date:

Not unlike his oft-lauded bandmate Panda Bear, Animal Collective frontmammal Dave Portner (a.k.a. Avey Tare) will soon be releasing his first solo album, entitled Down There. The nine-track debut comes out October 26 on Paw Tracks, and was recorded throughout this past June in upstate New York with the help of fellow Collective member Deakin. Down There is purported to be "a murky world of sound, an alien death world of soul grooves that is both honest and otherworldly". In other words, this may not be the weird pop experimentalism you would expect from a member of one of indie music's biggest bands. Check out the artwork and tracklist for Avey Tare's upcoming album below.

1. Laughing Hieroglyphic
2. 3 Umbrellas
3. Oliver Twist
4. Glass Bottom Boat
5. Ghost of Books
6. Cemeteries
7. Heads Hammock
8. Heather in the Hospital
9. Lucky 1