Dark Entries Preps Second 'Bay Area Retrograde' Compilation

Publish date:
Updated on

San Francisco's Dark Entries label—an imprint we profiled in the first edition of our freshly launched Get Familiar series—will release the second installment of its Bay Area Retrograde (BART) compilation next month. The compilation series aims to collect "underground music from San Francisco (and the greater Bay Area) made between 1978-1988," with an emphasis on the "experimental and quirky new wave, post punk, and synthpop" which populated the Bay Area's DIY music scene of the late '70s and '80s.

Furthermore, along with the vinyl release of BART Vol. 2, Dark Entries will also issue a CD edition of the series which combines both volumes of the collection. Both the vinyl and CD forms are set to land on October 15; in the meantime, the tracklist for Bay Area Retrograde (BART) Vol. 2 can be found below, while clips from the upcoming collection can be heard here.

01 Factrix - Night To Forget
02 Chrome - Meet You In the Subway
03 Red Asphalt - Red Asphalt
04 Tuxedomoon - Day to Day
05 Ki Di Me - Islamatic
06 Indoor Life - Gilmore of the Fillmore
07 Timmy Spence - Brand New Dance
08 Baby Buddha - Little Things
09 Human Being Men - Human Dub
10 Wonders Of Science - Let’s Start A Rumor
11 Zru Vogue - Nakweda Dream