Download a Meticulous New Mix from patten

Publish date:

With this week's release of his second full-length, ESTOILE NAIANT, via Warp, London producer patten has just delivered a meticulous new mix as a free stream and download. The hour-long set features music from the likes of Gerry Read, Lee Gamble, Jam City, Kyle Hall, Hype Williams, Factory Floor, Anthony Naples, Moodymann, Kassem Mosse, Goldie, Four Tet, Actress, and many others spread across its 29 tracks, and premiered today over on The FADER along with an expectedly atypical Q&A with the mixmaster himself. (Though, he does actually explain the origin of his new album's title, saying, "The term ESTOILE NAIANT was made using a medieval language called Heraldic Blazon. The language itself evolved to precisely describe the images that combine to form a coat of arms. So the LP title essentially leads to a very clear image. That image in an oblique way sketches out something about how this and other records might be looked at. It's like a prism to approach it through.") FADER Mix: patten can be streamed and downloaded for free via the player below, where its tracklist is also included.

Baka Pygmies – Hut Song – Cameroon: Baka Pygmy Music (UNESCO Recording) (1977 Odeon/EMI)
Kyle Hall & Kero – K2 Attack! – Zug Island (2012 Wild Oats)
Legowelt – To the Homeland – The Paranormal Soul (2012 Clone)
Gerry Read – Kontrol Yourself – Saucepan Jams (2013 Self-released)
I:Cube – Transparent Sea Creatures – “M” Megamix (2012 Versatile Records)
Holly Herndon – Chorus – Chorus (2014 RVNG Intl.)
Jam City – Garlands – Club Constructions Vol. 6 (2013 Night Slugs)
Lee Gamble – Nowhen Hooks – Dutch Tvashar Plumes (2012 PAN)
Chris & Cosey – Tantalize – Songs Of Love & Lust (1984 Rough Trade)
Aphex Twin – Delphium – Selected Ambient Works 85-92 (1992 Apollo)
Rezzett – Fire Bomb – Rezzett EP (2013 The Trilogy Tapes)
Zomby – Quickening – With Love (2013 4AD)
Anthony Naples – El Portal – El Portal (2013 The Trilogy Tapes)
Factory Floor – Breathe In – Factory Floor (2013 DFA)
Drexciya – Danger Bay – Drexciya 2: Bubble Metropolis (1993 Underground Resistance)
Laurel Halo – Hour Logic – Hour Logic (2011 Hippos In Tanks)
Moodymann – Tribute – Forevernevermore (2000 Peacefrog)
Lukid – Blind Spot – Boxing Club (2010 Glum)
Four Tet – Calamine (Radio Mix) – Glasshead/Calamine (1999 Output)
BNJMN – Slowwave – Hummingbird EP (2013 Rush Hour)
FaltyDL – Play Child – Bravery EP (2009 Planet Mu)
Le1f – ??? – Dark York (2012 Greedhead/Camp & Street)
Kassem Mosse – Inswanna – Enoha EP (2011 Nonplus)
Dream 2 Science – My Love Turns To Liquid (Original Mix) – My Love Turns To Liquid (1990 Power Move Records)
Illangelo – Crash Landing – History Of Man (2013 Bromance Records)
Actress – The Lord’s Graffiti – R.I.P (2012 Honest Jon’s)
Joy Division – Insight – The Peel Sessions (1986 Strange Fruit)
Goldie – Pressure/Jah – Timeless (1995 FFRR)
Hype Williams – Rise Up – Kelly Price W8 Gain Vol II (2011 Hyperdub)