Gui Boratto Announces New EP, LP for Kompakt, Shares First Single

Publish date:
Updated on

Gui Boratto has unveiled details for his fourth full-length album on Kompakt, which is slated for release in early fall. The Brazilian producer has sustained a longstanding relationship with the esteemed Cologne-based label for nearly a decade, which oversaw the release of his debut album Chromophobia back in 2007. His upcoming Abaporu LP (artwork above), is named for Brazil's most famous modernist painting; it's Boratto's first full-length album in several years and is described as "an exotic and colorful journey into sound." Spread across 13 tracks, the LP will reportedly reflect the same strain of pop-infused techno and house that has become his signature, and is due out as a vinyl, CD, and digital release on September 29.

Boratto is also scheduled to release a remix 12" for the album's lead single, "Joker," which is described as a song where "a masterfully sequenced synth drills into the aether while the soulful piano chords add emotional depth, all propelled by the almighty bass drum." Due out on August 4, Joker Remixe will feature reworks from Dave DK and Michael Mayer. In the meantime, "Joker" in its original form is available to stream in full below, where we've also included a tracklist for both forthcoming releases.

01/A1. Antropofagia
02/A2. Joker
03/B1. Please Don't Take Me Home
04/B2. Get the Party Started
05/C1. Abaporu
06/C2. 22
07. Take Control
08/D1. Indigo
09/D2. Manifesto
10. Wait for Me
11. Where I Belong
12. Too Late
13. Palin Dromo

Joker Remixe
01. Joker (Original Mix)
02. Joker (Dave DK Mix)
03. Joker (Michael Mayer Mix)