Icelandic Multi-Instrumentalist Ólafur Arnalds Details Fourth Studio Album, 're:member'

Mercury KX will release 're:member' on August 24.
Publish date:

Icelandic multi-instrumentalist and composer Ólafur Arnalds has detailed his fourth studio album, titled re:member

The 12-track release finds Arnalds working with Stratus, a piece of computer software he programmed over two years in collaboration with Halldór Eldjárn. We're told that it "transforms the humble piano into a unique new instrument" by using MIDI values triggered by what Arnalds plays on his primary piano to generate different sequences on two player pianos. Arnalds has described it as a way to change up his creative thinking: "You get ideas that you would never get otherwise, just because this inspired those ideas." 

Arnalds shared "re:member," the album's title track, back in April.


01. re:member 

02. unfold feat. SOHN 

03. saman 

04. brot 

05. inconsist 

06. they sink 

07. ypsilon 

08. partial 

09. momentary 

10. undir 

11. ekki hugsa 

12. nyepi 

Mercury KX will release re:member on August 24, with "unfold" ft. Sohn streaming in full below—or here for EU readers due to temporary GDPR restrictions