Kompakt Reveals Details for Pop Ambient 2011

Publish date:

Cologne's Kompakt Records is now on the 11th of its Pop Ambient series, an idea conceived of and curated by Kompakt's co-owner Wolfgang Voigt (who usually appears on the compilation under one of his many guises). Over the years, the compilation has gained a reputation as an excellent collection of majestic ambient tracks, all of which have a slight pop tinge or melodic emphasis, and this edition appears to be no different. It will feature some of Kompakt's usual heavy-hitters, with selections from Jürgen Paape (also a co-owner of the label), Mikkel Metal, and Thomas Fehlmann, as well as some newcomers to the comp such as ANBB (the collaboration of Raster Noton's Alva Noto and Einsturzende Neubauten's Blixa Bargeld) and Barnt, a co-founder of the newly started Cologne-based label, Magazine. Pop Ambient 2011 appears poised to continue the tradition of the well regarded series with its release on January 31. Check the full tracklist below. (via Resident Advisor)

01. ANBB / Alva Noto & Blixa Bargeld – Bernsteinzimmer
02. Marsen Jules – Once In A Moment
03. Triola - Dunkelraum
04. Wolfgang Voigt – Rückverzauberung 1
05. Bhutan Tiger Rescue – Beginner’s Waltz
06. Jürgen Paape – Ein Schöner Land
07. bvdub – Make The Pain Go Away
08. Crato – 30.6.1881
09. Barnt – Libretto
10. Mikkel Metal – The Other Side Of You
11. Jens-Uwe Beyer – Volax
12. Thomas Fehlmann – Titan