Owiny Sigoma Band Preps Sophomore Album, Shares First Single

Publish date:

The international septet Owiny Sigoma Band has dropped the details of a forthcoming full-length album set to appear this spring, sharing with the announcement that record's first single, "Owiny Techno." Our first taste of the 11-track Power Punch LP features Joseph Nyamungu's nyatiti spreading out its bouncy melody in the sonic space and Charles Owoko's nyiduonge drums working out a serious groove among chanted vocals and synth-touched atmospherics. Below, you can listen to "Owiny Techno," check out the tracklist and artwork for Power Punch, and watch an enlightening video in which Owoko talks about Owiny Sigoma Band's friendships and musical history—all before Gilles Peterson's Brownswood label releases the outfit's new LP on April 8.

01. Nagalo Ni Piny Odag
02. Norbat Okelo
03. Sunken Wrecks
04. Lucas Malore
05. Magret Aloor
06. Mombassa Outro
07. Harpoon Land
08. Owiny Techno

09. Yukimwi
10. All Together
11. Jonny Ra Ha