Peter Broderick Returns to Erased Tapes

'Grunewald' EP is scheduled for December 9 release.
Publish date:

Peter Broderick will release a new five-track EP on London's Erased Tapes in December.

Broderick is something of a veteran of the Erased Tapes label, having worked with the label since 2009's Music For Falling From Trees. For close to a decade, Broderick has not only released records, but composed solo works for film, dance, documentaries, and art installations.

Recorded in Berlin's Grunewald Church, the five-track EP is said to be "an exploration of the alluring partnership between the acoustic space and Broderick's solo performance on piano and violin." Reflecting the grandeur of the room and the natural interaction between the instruments and their surrounding environment, Grunewald "pays homage to a very unusual space that's become a haven for an entire generation of contemporary composers."

Peter had this to say on the making of Grunewald:

"In the few years between 2008 and 2011 or so, the Grunewald Church in Berlin was something of a hotspot for a group of us musicians. It started when Nils [Frahm] scouted it as a location in which to record The Bells . . . and then it seemed like we were in there every month or two for a while, either for recordings or for concerts. There was a lady living just down the street from the church, and we'd just knock on her door, give her a couple hundred euros, and then she'd hand over the keys to the church! To be given unsupervised access in a space like that is really quite unheard of most of the time. For anyone who likes reverb, the Grunewald is a dream come true. That in combination with the beautiful old Bösendorfer piano made it the perfect place for both recording and performing. When mixing the recordings that comprise this EP, simply titled Grunewald in homage to that old haven of ours, there were no artificial reverbs or delays used . . . only the natural sound of that epic space. Originally these piano recordings were released as part of a split album on a small Japanese label, and the violin piece was included on a compilation, also Japanese . . . but all these pieces were recorded on the same night, in the same space, and it is with great pleasure that I see them reunited for this release."


01. Goodnight
02. Low Light
03. Violin Solo No. 1
04. It's A Storm When I Sleep
05. Eyes Closed And Traveling

Grunewald EP is scheduled for December 9 release.