Pursuit Grooves to Release Album as 91 Fellows

Publish date:

Last time we'd heard from Pursuit Grooves (a.k.a. Vanese Smith), she'd just released her Frantically Hopeful LP, and tossed us two free tracks. Now, we've discovered that the genre-defying producer and MC is branching out into new musical ground with a new alias, 91 Fellows. The new project, which came about as a tribute to her grandfather who passed away last year, is geared toward an atmospheric and experimental trajectory (a sound Smith refers to as "cinematic dub") far different from the Brooklyn resident's usual output, as is demonstrated by a 30-minute mix—conceived as a score for fictitious film Terrapin Skydome—that she put together for the Australian website A Colorful Storm. And she's not stopping there; Smith is also putting out a self-titled, eight-track record as 91 Fellows, which will be available in late July via Oakland-based label Deepblak. You can check out the cover art and tracklist for that LP, along with the aforementioned mix, below.

A1 Wood Canes
A2 Carolina
A3 The Atlantic
A4 Lions Lawn
B1 Noon Sleeps
B2 Peppermill
B3 Noon Sleeps (Afrikan Sciences Remix)
B4 Carolina (AYBEE Remix)