Soul Jazz Readies New Disco Compilation

Publish date:
Updated on

Coinciding with the upcoming release of the Disco – An Encyclopedic Guide to the Cover Art of Disco book, Soul Jazz has announced plans to issue a compilation of "rare and independent tracks from Disco’s halcyon period." With its cuts spanning the years 1978 to 1982, the collection—simply titled Disco—has been compiled by disco and boogie aficionado Disco Patrick (who was also responsible for sourcing the covers for the upcoming book), and is said to include "in-demand classics" from the likes of The Fantastic Aleems, John Gibbs and the US Steel Orchestra, as well as rare productions from Patrick Adams and Peter Brown and legendary disco mixer John Morales.

Disco will see its official release on November 17 as a double CD and two separate volumes of heavyweight double-album vinyl; the collection will also see a full digital release. In the meantime, the forthcoming collection's complete tracklist has been included below.

1. The Fantastic Aleems featuring Calebur - Hooked On Your Love (John Morales Mix)
2. Superfunk - Superfunk
3. Jessie G - That's Hot
4. Jupiter Beyond - The River Drive
5. The Sunburst Band - The Easton Assassin
6. John Gibbs and The U.S. Steel Orchestra - Trinidad (Special Disco Mix)
7. Sparkle - Disco Madness
8. Chain Reaction - Sweet Lady (Dance With Me)
9. Wayne Ford - Dance To The Beat Freakout
10. Sympho-State - You Know What I Like
11. The Fantastic Aleems featuring Corky Hodges - Movin' To The Beat
12. Something Extra - Sexy Lady
13. Stwange Poweple - Get Up (Let's Rock)
14. Chemistry - Skateboard
15. Cirt Gill and The Jam-A-Ditty Band - Turn This Disco Out
16. Sugar Bear Johnson - When Your Jones Come Down
17. Retta Young - My Man Is On His Way
18. The Imperials - Fast Freddie The Roller Disco King
19. Cordial - Wave