Steve Spacek Reveals Upcoming LP for Ninja Tune as Beat Spacek, Shares New Track

Publish date:
Updated on

Longstanding UK vocalist/producer Steve Spacek (who also serves as half of the Africa Hitech duo alongside Mark Pritchard) has revealed details of an upcoming LP for Ninja Tune. Entitled Modern Streets, the album will find Spacek operating under the name Beat Spacek and—according to Ninja Tune's website—was largely created using iPhone and iPad apps. A 13-track, genre-blurring endeavor, Ninja Tune goes on to further describe the record as "a journey through the evolution of modern Britain from a futurist perspective."

Set to arrive on January 26 of next year, our first taste of the album comes in the form of "I Wanna Know," the LP's somewhat frenetic lead cut which features many layers of Spacek's raspy vocals. In addition to a full stream of Beat Spacek's new effort, the complete tracklist for Modern Streets can also be found below.

1. I Wanna Know
2. Tonight
3. Inflight Wave
4. Modern Streets
5. I Want You
6. Gotta Get Some Music
7. If You Are My Chalice
8. There is a Love
9. Stand Firm
10. Compact n Sleep
11. Back to School
12. You’re the Only One
13. Alone in Da Sun