XL Announces Upcoming Label Retrospective Compilation Featuring The Prodigy, Basement Jaxx, SBTRKT, Jamie xx, and More

Publish date:
Updated on

The longstanding, shapeshifting XL label is in the midst of celebrating 25 years in the business, and to mark the occasion have announced the forthcoming Pay Close Attention compilation, a comprehensive retrospective collection which gathers the label's standout tracks from its storied history. Though it is set to be available as a four-LP vinyl box set, Pay Close Attention comes split into two parts—the first of which "explores the (still-growing) roots of XL: underground music made for DJs," while the second part is said to feature "the unique talents whose albums XL has released to worldwide acclaim." With that in mind, Part One will feature tracks the likes of The Prodigy, Dizzee Rascal, Wiley, Basement Jaxx, Various Production, SBTRKT, and Jamie xx; with Part Two including contributions again from The Prodigy alongside The xx, Sampha, Jai Paul, and more.

Furthermore, XL has specially built a new website to coincide with the release of the compilation, which is said to be "comprised of a series of immersive and interconnected timelines that allow you to explore the work of artists who appear on Pay Close Attention." The website can be checked out here while the full tracklist for the upcoming compilation—out as a four-LP vinyl box set, two-disc CD, and digital download on August 25—can be found below.

Part One
1. SL2 - DJs Take Control
2. The Prodigy - Out Of Space
3. Awesome 3 - Don’t Go (Kicks Like A Mule Mix)
4. Liquid - Sweet Harmony
5. Jonny L - Piper
6. Roy Davis Jr. featuring Peven Everett - Gabriel (Live Garage Version)
7. Dem 2 - Destiny
8. Nu-Birth - Anytime
9. Basement Jaxx - Jump N’Shout
10. Dizzee Rascal - I Luv U
11. Wiley - Igloo
12. Various Production - Hater
13. Giggs - Talkin The Hardest
14. SBTRKT - Wildfire (featuring Little Dragon)
15. Jamie xx - All Under One Roof Raving

Part Two
1. The Prodigy - Firestarter
2. Peaches - Fuck The Pain Away
3. The White Stripes - Seven Nation Army
4. Devendra Banhart - I Feel Just Like A Child
5. Ratatat - Seventeen Years
6. M.I.A. - Paper Planes
7. Thom Yorke - The Eraser
8. Gil Scott-Heron - New York Is Killing Me
9. Radiohead - Weird Fishes / Arpeggi
10. Tyler, The Creator - Yonkers
11. The Horrors - Sea Within A Sea
12. Jai Paul - BTSTU (demo)
13. Bobby Womack - Please Forgive My Heart
14. The xx - Angels
15. Sampha - Too Much
16. Vampire Weekend - Step
17. King Krule - Easy Easy
18. Adele - Rolling In The Deep