Podcast 231: Mano Le Tough

Mano Le Tough (a.k.a. Niall Mannion) is a name that popped up on XLR8R's radar in a major way last year, particularly following the release of his Stories EP and the "In My Arms" 12". Both records found the Irish-born producer exploring the incorporation of a new element—his own voice—into his musical palette, a shift which found his already melodic style moving into increasingly compelling and, yes, pop-oriented territory. This process was explored at length when Mano Le Tough was featured in our Bubblin' Up series, and since then, the Berlin-based producer has continued work on his forthcoming debut full-length, which is set to drop later this year via Permanent Vacation. In the meantime, we convinced Mannion to put together an exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast series. Despite his recent pop-minded leanings, the man still knows how to work a dancefloor, as evidenced by the propulsive cuts he strings together over the course of more than an hour. While the tracks are mostly new, there's a real classic sensibility to the mix, whether it's showcasing sturdy house and techno rhythms, putting an '80s-influenced vocal front and center, or breaking out a bouncy disco bassline. There may not be a lot of bells and whistles on display, but they're really not needed. Mano Le Tough's knack for simplicity and musicality is a huge part of what makes his tunes so enjoyable in the first place. Based on this podcast, it seems that his DJ mixes employ a similarly effective approach.

01 Jesper Dahlbäck "Fransson" (Studio Barnhus)
02 Mario & Vidis "Ryyk" (Best Kept Secret)
03 Mano Le Tough "She Sighed" (Permanent Vacation)
04 Dave Aju "All Together Now" (Circus Company)
05 Stereotyp "Keepin' Me (Fauna Flash Remix)" (Moonboutique)
06 Mathew Jonson "Dayz" (Crosstown Rebels)
07 Redshape "On Da Floor" (Running Back)
08 Portable with Efdemin "One Way" (Perlon)
09 Todd Terje "Inspector Norse" (Olsen)
10 New Jackson "The Night Mail" (Pogo)
11 Jape "Lying on a Deathbed" (Music for Losers)

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)