Podcast 58: All Things Matthew Dear by Derek Plaslaiko

Publish date:

Matthew Dear is a man of many talents and personalities. Over the past decade he has assembled an impressive discography of top-shelf techno, microhouse, electronic pop, and more. After operating for years under a variety of different pseudonyms (Matthew Dear, Audion, False, Jabberjaw), he unveiled a live incarnation called Matthew Dear's Big Hands last year. With the band prepared to embark on a string of live dates across North America, the folks at Ghostly International have commissioned a mix highlighting Dear's catalog.

Given that the man himself is constantly overloaded with everything from production work to DJ gigs, Ghostly was left with the difficult task of enlisting someone who could properly represent Dear's music for the XLR8R podcast. It quickly became clear that Derek Plaslaiko was the right man for the job, as the Michigan native came up in the same Midwestern techno scene as Dear and has since relocated to New York and become one of Gotham's most in-demand techno DJs. Utilizing everything from obscure cuts and remixes to certified dancefloor anthems (not to mention a couple of exclusive, unreleased Audion tracks), Plaslaiko has crafted an homage suitable for both hardcore fans and listeners simply looking to get acquainted with the sounds of Matthew Dear.

01 Matthew Dear "Don't Go This Way" (Ghostly)
02 Matthew Dear "Fleece On Brain" (Ghostly)
03 False "Sink The Ship" (Minus)
04 Hot Chip "No Fit State" (Audion Remix) (EMI)
05 Ellen Allien "Out (Audion's Out For Infants Mix)" (Bpitch Control)
06 Matthew Dear "Hammers" (Spectral)
07 Matthew Dear "Pinch & Pillage" (Spectral)
08 Matthew Dear "Dog Days" (Spectral)
09 Matthew Dear "Stealing Moves" (Spectral)
10 Audion "Snap Into It" (Spectral)
11 Audion "Bees Please" (Spectral/Unreleased)
12 Audion "OWT" (Spectral/Unreleased)
13 False "You Wouldn't" (Minus)
14 Matthew Dear "Anger Management" (Spectral)
15 Audion "Kisses" (Spectral)
16 Matthew John "Olga Dancekowski (Audion's Paradise Cafe Mix)" (Trampolin)
17 Matthew Dear "It's Over Now" (Spectral)

Subscribe to this podcast: iTunes or mp3 format. For help, click here.

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)