Podcast 239: Benjamin Damage & Doc Daneeka

Publish date:

While both Benjamin Damage and Doc Daneeka entered 2012 with solid track records, it's fair to say that the Welsh duo's debut full-length, They!Live, far exceeded everyone's expectations. Last year's "Creeper" b/w "Infamous" single—like the album, released via Modeselektor's 50 Weapons imprint—was an impressive, techno-leaning first outing, but they They!Live is an especially accomplished effort, one that finds the producers streamlining their sound while applying their penchant for crafting infectious rhythms to a framework more suited to their newly adopted Berlin surroundings. In the wake of releasing one of 2012's best albums (granted, it's only March), we figured now would be a good time to invite the pair to put together an exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast series. Technically speaking, Doc Daneeka did put together a pretty stellar podcast for us back in May of 2010, and XLR8R generally doesn't allow artists to have a second go-round, but this collaboration with Benjamin Damage is essentially a brand-new project, even if it does bear both of their names. As for the duo's mix, it finds Benjamin Damage and Doc Daneeka skating along the nebulous territory where so-called "bass music" intersects with classic techno and house sensibilities. Much like the pair's own productions, their selections here are often the sort of tunes that breathe new life, not to mention unique rhythms, into the standard techno template. It's a compelling listen, and something that provides an interesting preview of where many bass-music refugees might be heading in the not-so-distant future.

01 John Talabot "So Will Be Now" (Permanent Vacation)
02 DBX "Beat Phreak" (Accelerate)
03 Hayden Andre Project "Broken Chains" (Strobe)
04 Joy O "Wade In" (Hotflush)
05 Untold "Little Things Like That" (Clone)
06 Benjamin Damage & Doc Daneeka "No One" (50 Weapons)
07 Presk & Cinnaman "Sweat (Doc Daneeka Remix)" (Audio Culture)
08 Armando "Downfall" (Trax)
09 Sepalcure "Breezin" (Hotflush)
10 Ken Ishii "Extra" (R&S)
11 Midland & Pariah "Untitled"
12 Doc Daneeka "Tobyjug (Lando Kal Remix)" (Ten Thousand Yen)
13 Benjamin Damage & Doc Daneeka "Deaf Siren" (50 Weapons)
14 Cosmin TRG "De Dans" (50 Weapons)
15 Dexter "Juno Fest" (Rush Hour)

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)