Podcast 109: Dre Skull

Publish date:

Although he's been making noise as a DJ and producer for years, 2009 found Brooklyn's Dre Skull expanding his sonic range into the worlds of hip-hop, bounce, electro, and dancehall. He's also founded his own label, Mixpak, as an outpost for his own productions. Between dropping hot singles, collaborating with MCs like Sizzla, Lil Scrappy, Natalie Storm, Sissy Nobby, and Gotty Boi Chris, and blowing up Jamaica with his Vybz Kartel-voiced track "Yuh Love," Dre Skull is certainly keeping busy. Next month he'll be headlining our TURRBOTAX® party in New York, so delve into this mix in the meantime and get hyped—it showcases both a number of unreleased Mixpak tracks along with some other sounds and producers that have been catching Dre Skull's ear.

01 Sticky feat. Natalie Storm "Look Pon Me" (Mixpak)
02 Maxwell D + Lil Silva "Blackberry Hype"
03 N.B Funky "The Leak Remix" (UK Funky)
04 French Fries "Predator"
05 Dre Skull feat. Gotty Boi Chris "Drop Get Down Low (Brodinski Remix)" (Mixpak)
06 Juiceboxxx and Dre Skull "Hype (Dre Skull Remix)" (Vicious Pop)
07 SonicC "Stickin"
08 Zinc "Nu Sound" (Bingo Bass)
09 Laidback Luke & Lee Mortimer "Blau" (Fool's Gold)
10 DJ Manaia "King Kong"
11 Drop The Lime "Set Me Free" (Trouble & Bass)
12 Udachi & Jubilee "Smoke Rings (Dre Skull Remix)" (Nightshifters)
13 Sissy Nobby "Lay Me Down (Kanji Kanetic Remix)" (Mixpak)
14 Buraka Som Sistema "Kurum (DJ Manaia Remix)"
15 Timberlee "Gunny Gunny (Schlachthofbronx Remix)"
16 Sticky feat. Natalie Storm "Look Pon Me (Dexplicit Remix)" (Mixpak)

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)