Podcast 71: Future Blappin' with Lazer Sword

Publish date:

Of all the acts currently pushing that future-bass-lazer-blap (whatever you prefer to call it) sound into the far reaches of today's dancefloors, none is nearer and dearer to the heart of XLR8R than the Lazer Sword boys. Okay, that might have a little something to do with the fact that both Bryant Rutledge and Antaeus Roy are former employees of the magazine, but their time spent plugging away at subscriber emails and MP3s is hardly the reason these guys are blowing up club scenes from San Francisco to Scotland. With that in mind, we commissioned the duo to make us this hour-long mix to show off just exactly what Lazer Sword is about when it comes to music.

In true form, the boys didn't hold back, delivering a 36-track set that features hip-hop, future-bass, electro, and more. Many of the tracks are remixes Rutledge and Roy have made themselves, and, in true Lazer Sword fashion, names like Dr. Dre and Keak Da Sneak crop up on the tracklisting.

We know Lazer Sword for its ability to bring a party with unbridled enthusiasm and a healthy sense of humor, whether that means DJing to a crowd dressed as a Jesus medallion and the Fresh Prince of Bel Air or taking one for the team and playing strange festivals populated by scary neo-hippies. See this mix for further affirmation. Photo by Jordan Fraker

Future Blappin'
01 Oizo, Sebastian, & Sebastian Tellier - "Arrival (Lazers Word Quik Intro Edit)"
02 Lil' Flip - "I'm a Balla (Low Limit Air Canada Remix)"
03 Cupp Cave - "Breech This Trust"
04 TI - "Big Thangs Poppin (Lando Kal Slumper Remix)"
05 Robot Koch vs. Cerebral Vortex - "Vortex Cookies (Lazer Sword White Chocolate Chip Remix)"
06 Modeselektor - "hmmmm"
07 Madlib the Beat Konducta - "Electric Company (Voltage-Watts)"
08 SS - "Mo'fucking Boss"
09 Low Limit - "Inspirational Jumpsuit"
10 Flying Lotus - "Melt"
11 Dr. Dre - "The Day The Niggaz Took Over (feat. RBX & Snoop Dogg)"
12 Badman LL - "Throw Me Out The Club"
13 Ultimate Spinach - "(Ballad Of The) Hip Death Goddess"
14 Ghosts On Tape - "Equator Jam"
15 Dwight Trible - "Eternal"
16 LL Ultimate Blapfuture - "Tits Money"
17 Keak Da Sneak - "X2"
18 Lone - "Fire Fly Rainbow"
19 Krazy Baldhead - "Revolution"
20 Djedjotronic - "Farandole"
21 Codebreaker - "We Don't Need No (Miami Horror Remix)"
22 Sébastien Tellier - "Roche"
23 Lando Kal - "3D Action Jackson"
24 Mr. Oizo x Yuksek x Trick Daddy - "Hun / This Is Me / J.O.D.D. (Lando Kal edit)"
25 Restiform Bodies - "Interactive Holloween Bear (Lazer Sword Remix)"
26 Siriusmo - "Girls Rock"
27 Danger - "111 00h00 (ft. Vyle)"
28 Lemonade - "Realslime (Lazer Sword Remix)"
29 Jackson & His Computer Band - "Tropical Metal"
30 Lando Kal - "Exotic Jesus (w/ The Team "Hyphy Juice" a cappella)"
31 Laroo - "Money Ain't Trippin (ft. E-40)"
32 Hudson Mohawk - "Track 12 (of Hudson's Heaters)"
33 LL - "Drippinist (w/ Jay D & Jay-Z "Money Ain't A Thang" a cappella)"
34 Lando Kal - "Issy edit"
35 Lando Kal Ultimate Blapfuture - "#11 (H.A.L. x A Millie edit)"
36 Para One - "Bobble"

Subscribe to this podcast: iTunes or mp3 format. For help, click here.

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)