Podcast 300: Maya Jane Coles

Publish date:
Updated on

The XLR8R podcast series is nearly seven years old. During that time, the entire concept of podcasts has become ubiquitous; at times, it feels like just about everyone on the planet with an internet connection has one. Still, we've held fast to a simple concept: each week, we ask a DJ put together an exclusive mix, which we then post on XLR8R for our readers to stream and/or download. There's nothing overly complex about it, and the podcast doesn't come with many bells and whistles, yet the series has nevertheless become one of the cornerstones of our website, something that thousands of people flock to week in and week out. Last month, we featured a special series of mixes in celebration of XLR8R's 20th anniversary, and today we've arrived at another milestone: podcast number 300. We couldn't let the moment go by without celebrating, so we've enlisted none other than Maya Jane Coles to lead the festivities.

Coles has been turning out music since 2008, but following the release of 2010's "What They Say," her profile exploded, and the London artist's ascent hasn't stopped since. We've actually been chasing her to put together an XLR8R podcast for a couple of years now, but in retrospect, we're glad she decided to wait. These days, she's one of house music's biggest stars, a producer whose output has traction in both underground and more commercial circles. At the beginning of next month, Coles will be releasing Comfort, her first proper full-length effort and an LP which finds her employing her own vocals in a more prominent way than ever before—something she discussed as part of our Ladies on the Mic feature earlier this year. Ahead of the album's appearance, she's put together this mix for XLR8R, and it finds her doing what she does best: playing quality house music. Focusing largely on newer selections—most of them with vocals—and incorporating an abundance of bright melodies and bouncing grooves, it's appropriately upbeat listen for this special occasion.

01 Lund Quartet "Sequoia"
02 Citizen "Came Through" (MadTech)
03 Douglas Greed feat. Delhia de Frace "Sense" (Upon You)
04 Giuseppe Favia "Sensation" (Dark Side)
05 Franskild "Majestic Mountains" (Sweat It Out!)
06 Sei A "Wants" (Seinan)
07 Rey Aguilar "It's Not Over (Nick Devon Remix)" (Cromarti)
08 Maya Jane Coles feat. Kim Ann Foxmann "Burning Bright" (I/AM/ME)
09 Lee Burton "Breath (Lake People Remix)" (Klik)
10 Feindrehstar "Vulgarian Knights (Maxi Version)" (Musik Krause)
11 Dapayk Solo feat. Camara "Back to Me (Single Version)" (Mo's Ferry)
12 Eskuche & Nu Sky "Detroit" (TLK)
13 Remute "Gravity?"
14 Sono "Keep Control (H.O.S.H. Remix)" (Kontor)

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)