Podcast 77: Odd Nosdam: Nofoolisnotaintready

Publish date:

No, that's not a typo in the header. It's just the phrase Odd Nosdam chose when naming this mix, and the 17 tracks here are equally as quirky and off-kilter. Berkeley, CA-based David P. Madson—who recently released the T.I.M.E. soundtrack, in which he scored 13 tracks to match the moves of 13 different skateboarders—curated a supremely mellow and incredibly eclectic mix for the latest installment of the XLR8R podcast. In very few hands do the likes of Greek folk singer Marika Papagika, drone-ambient queen Valet and indie-rock outfit Grandaddy peacefully coexist together. Madson strings these, and more, together seamlessly.

As always, the hour-long mix is exclusive to XLR8R.

Madson's T.I.M.E. release is out now via anticon.

01 The Books - "It's Musiiiiic!"
02 Mr. Dibbs & Jel - "Rhythmic Soarin"
03 Kevin Ayers - "Oleh Oleh Bandu Bandong"
04 Grandaddy - "Go Progress Chrome"
05 Dorothy Ashby - "For Some We Loved"
06 Valet - "We Went There"
07 Grouper - "You Never Came"
08 Marika Papagika - "Zmirneikos Balos"
09 Tortoise - "Whitewater"
10 Black Moth Super Rainbow - "Runite Castles"
11 McDonald & Giles - "Birdman Flies!"
12 Mulatu Astatke - "Ene Alantchi Alnorem"
13 Ween - "Pollo Asado"
14 Bre'r - "Birf Crawl"
15 Philip Jeck - "Wholesome"
16 Kevin Ayers - "Beware Of The Dog"
17 Deerhoof - "This Magnificent Bird Will Rise"

Subscribe to this podcast: iTunes or mp3 format. For help, click here.

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)