Podcast 315: Oneohtrix Point Never

Publish date:

Describing the work of Oneohtrix Point Never (a.k.a. Dan Lopatin) is no simple task. While the Brooklyn-based producer initially made his name with a series of trippily drifting synthscapes, recent years have found him consistently expanding his artistic vision, to the point where describing his "sound" is all but impossible. Today finds Lopatin releasing the excellent R Plus Seven, his latest full-length and first for the storied Warp imprint. Though his synth wizardry is still part of the equation, the LP further solidifies Oneohtrix Point Never as an experimental force, an artist who's taken stock of musical history and is unafraid to assemble challenging and highly conceptual worlds of sound. That's why we were so excited at the prospect of Lopatin putting together an exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast series; there was little doubt that he would craft something that was both engagingly detailed and stunningly off the wall. Glancing at the tracklist, there's little question that Lopatin put a ton of time into the mix, as the podcast not only runs for nearly two hours, it also spans multiple decades, genres, and continents. As it unfurls, Lopatin flashes a unique ability to connect the dots between seemingly disparate points of the musical universe, and often does so with a genuine sense of humor, which makes the listening experience all the more enjoyable. (For instance, the artwork below is something that Lopatin insisted we include with the mix.) R Plus Seven is a real triumph, but Lopatin's podcast is a similarly accomplished effort, not to mention a collection of music that's absolutely enthralling in its own right.


01 Meredith Monk "Cluster 2" (ECM New Series) > Mark Leckey "Fiorucci Made Me Hardcore (Edit)" (Death of Rave) > GZA "Shadowboxin'" (Geffen)
02 Paul Lansky "Notjustmoreidlechatter"
03 Jefferson Airplane "Today" (RCA Victor)
04 Kenji Kawai "Virtual Crime" (BMG Victor)
05 Aksak Maboul "Scratch Holiday" (Made to Measure)
06 The Game "See No Evil" (Interscope) > Ben Frost "Untitled Transient (Edit)" (Bedroom Community)
07 Taylor Deupree "Snow/Sand (Edit)" (12K) > Julia Holter "Running Through My Eyes (Edit)" (Domino) > Three 6 Mafia "Charging These Hoes" (Relativity)
08 Forgemasters "Track With No Name" (Warp)
09 NY House'n Authority "Apt 2A" (Nu Groove)
10 Kraftwerk "Sex Object" (EMI)
11 Scott Johnson "Involuntary Song #2" (Nonesuch)
12 F.U.S.E. "Nitedrive" (Wax Trax!) > Coil "Rosa Decidua" (Eskaton) > Global Communication "12 18" (Dedicated) > Mark Leckey "3 Minute Wonder (Channel 4 video excerpt)" > Lazy Smoke "Under Skys" (Jackpot)
13 Robert Hood "Minus" (Tresor)
14 Yasuaki Shimizu "Bridgestone 2" (Crammed Discs)
15 Ariel Pink "Mature Themes" (4AD)
16 Koopsta Knicca "Now I'm Hi (Pt. 2)" (D.Evil)
17 Judee Sill "Abracadabra" (Asylum)
18 Morton Feldman "Rothko Chapel 3" (Hänssler Classic) > Severed Heads "Hemet" (Sevcom) > Wendy Carlos "Title Music From A Clockwork Orange (from Henry Purcell's 'Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary, Z. 860')" (Columbia)
19 Benjamin Lew "Les Traces d'Un Pont" (Crammed Discs) > SND "00018 Old End Ng" (Mille Plateaux) > Cocteau Twins "Cherry-Coloured Funk" (4AD)
20 Geinoh Yamashirogumi "Catastrophe" (Invitation)
21 Ayhun "OAR003-B" (Oni Ayhun) > Future Sound of London "Bird Wings" (Virgin)
22 Autechre "Piezo" (Warp)
23 Kanye West "Bound 2 (Edit)" (Def Jam) > Mark Leckey "Fiorucci Made Me Hardcore (Edit)" (Death of Rave)

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)