Podcast 415: Kollektiv Turmstrasse

Check out two-hours worth of rich, emotion-filled rhythms from the duo of Christian Hilscher and Nico Plagemann.
Publish date:

We'll get right to the point: This week's podcast is pure class. It's an elegant, even romantic affair, one that manages to convey a wide swathe of emotions despite (or, perhaps, because of) an overarching aura of restraint. But what else would you expect from the German twosome known as Kollektiv Turmstrasse? The duo of Christian Hilscher and Nico Plagemann has been exploring this binary universe—a push-pull world of cool, near-ethereal moderation wedded to rich, lush passion—since the late '90s, with a slew of sumptuous, meticulously produced singles (and a pair of full-length releases) coming out on the likes of Connaisseur, Diynamic and the duo's own Musik Gewinnt Freunde. That's not to mention an never-ending string of often-gorgeous remixes, for everyone from Duke Dumont and Hot Chip to, earlier this year, Super Flu and WhoMadeWho. Nowadays, Hilscher and Plagemann are known as much for their soaring live sets as anything else—if you happen to be in the Munich area, they'll be playing at Contact Festival on Saturday, December 5—but they're still pretty darn skilled in the DJing arts as well, as you'll discover when you hit the PLAY button on this set of sometimes stately, always impassioned selection of tunes. And in what must be a first for XLR8R, one of the tracks features Jennifer Lawrence on vocals! (It's a heavily reworked ditty from The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1, in case you were wondering.)

XLR8R Podcast 415: Kollektiv Turmstrasse by Xlr8r on Mixcloud

01 Corsu "Iter" (Maertz remix) (Leone Music)
02 Dama & Raabe "Slowdown" (Nulectric)
03 Daniel Dubb "Pound For Pound" (Rejected)
04 Etapp Kyle "Aurora" (Klockworks)
05 Francesco Chiocci feat. Black Soda "Black Sunrise" (Connaisseur Recordings)
06 Cosmic Cowboys & Leo Leal "Citrine" (Musik Gewinnt Freunde)
07 Lewis Boardman "Werk It" (Cadenza Lab)
08 Yannis PK "Day for Night" (Nin92wo Records)
09 Matthias Vogt "Nocturne" (L'Enfant Terrible Records)
10 Bicep "Just" (Aus)
11 Isolee "Favouride" (Pampa)
12 H.O.S.H. "Steppenwolf" (Jerome Sydenham's Blacktro Dub Remix) (Diynamic)
13 Butch feat. Hohberg "The Spirit" (Adriatique's 7am Remix) (Watergate)
14 Danny Daze "Ready2Go" (Ultramajic)
15 Jake Chambers "Black Swan" (Musik Gewinnt Freunde)
16 Ost & Kjex feat. Jens Carelius "Easy" (Lehar & Musumeci remix) (Diynamic)
17 Tania Vulcano, AudioHell & Jose De Divina "Massive" (Get Physical)
18 James Newton Howard feat. Jennifer Lawrence "The Hanging Tree" (Eelke Kleijn Bootleg)
19 Moderat "Out of Sight" (BPitch Control)
20 dubspeeka "K241Z" (Alan Fitzpatrick remix) (Last Night on Earth)
21 Philip Selway "Around Again" (The Acid remix) (Bella Union)

XLR8R Podcast 415: Kollektiv Turmstrasse