Podcast 195: Shigeto

Publish date:
Updated on

Michigan native Zach Saginaw (a.k.a. Shigeto)—who now calls Brooklyn home—crashed onto our radar last year, dropping two EPs and his debut album, Full Circle, on Ghostly International. However, despite his childhood proximity to Detroit and current presence on Matthew Dear's label, his music has little to do with techno, instead lifting grooves from further back in Motown's history, namely the world of funk, soul, jazz, and hip-hop. And the kid certainly knows how to keep busy: In 2011, he's released the Full Circle Remixes LP, toured with Mount Kimbie, and this Friday, April 29, he'll be playing a special XLR8R-sponsored show with Sepalcure in San Francisco. (Go here for all the details on that.) In the interest of adding even more to his overflowing agenda, we enlisted Shigeto to assemble an exclusive mix for the XLR8R podcast series. His selections include plenty of familiar suspects, many from the fertile Southern California and UK music scenes. Expect plenty of broken, hip-hop flavored beats, washed-out synths, emotive vocal snippets, and an unshakeable desire to nod your head while listening.

01 A Setting Sun "33 (JDSY Remix)" (Moodgadget)
02 Deru "Between You and Me" (Hymen)
03 Shigeto and Devonwho "Cirlces" (All City)
04 Simple "Barely Together"
05 Zack Christ "Fox Prawn" (Tall Prawn)
06 Mount Kimbie "Would Know" (Hotflush)
07 Pajaro Sunrise "Old Goodbyes (Charles Trees Remix)" (Lovemonk)
08 Shlohmo "Forgot Where I Was" (Friends of Friends)
09 Burial "Broken Home" (Hyperdub)
10 King Midas Sound "Lost (Flying Lotus Remix)" (Hyperdub)
11 Devonwho "Holup (Hi Res' Refix)" (Klipmode)
12 Take "Neon Beams (Dibiase Remix)" (Alpha Pup)
13 Dabrye "With a Professional" (Ghostly International)
14 3LLL "Melt"
15 Shigeto "Children at Midnight (Saturn Never Sleeps Remix)"

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)