Podcast 163: Teengirl Fantasy

Publish date:

2010 has been one of those years where the press likes to revive the notion that bands have made electronic music and dancing cool again... as though electronic music and dancing ever stopped being cool on some grand scale. We're just guessing here, but it's a safe bet that Logan Takahashi and Nick Weiss of Oberlin duo Teengirl Fantasy were never confused about these matters. The pair has just released its debut full-length, 7AM, on the True Panther label, and although the album offers much more than just four-on-the-floor dancefloor cuts, it does sport an abundance of vintage synth sounds, drum-machine beats, and nods to classic '80s and '90s dance music. If that's not enough proof that the boys have a keen ear for the club, then this exclusive mix they assembled for the XLR8R podcast should eliminate any lingering doubts. The guys may not be professional DJs, but they sure can pick quality tunes, as they adeptly pair vintage rave and Chicago house with new-school cuts from UK post-dubstep luminaries (Actress, Mount Kimbie) and US contemporaries (Nguzunguzu, Blondes, Magick Mountain).

01 Teengirl Fantasy "Make the Move (Version)"
02 Inner City "Inner City Theme" (Virgin)
03 Demdike Stare "Conjoined" (Modern Love)
04 Actress "Maze" (Honest Jon's)
05 Armando "Don't Stop" (Trax)
06 Hieroglyphic Being "Machines For Lovers" (Ghostly)
07 Blondes "Moondance (Oneohtrix Point Never Sundial Mix)" (Merok)
08 Patrice Scott "Excursions" (Sistrum)
09 Mount Kimbie "Field" (Hotflush)
10 Nguzunguzu "Strut" (Silverback)
11 Magick Mountain "One For My Ego (June Mix)" (Pop Manifesto)
12 Ryuichi Sakamoto vs. Guido "Forbidden Sax (TGF Edit)"
13 Rockers Hi-Fi "Push Push" (Great Stuff)
14 Rhythim is Rhythim "Kaotic Harmony" (Transmat)

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)