Podcast 78: XLR8R Presents Circlesquare

Publish date:

Anyone not familiar with Berlin-based producer Klimek will be by the end of this mix. His track "True Enemies and False Friends," which appears on Kompakt Records' Pop Ambient 2009 compilation, is obviously a piece of music Jeremy Shaw (a.k.a. Circlesquare) has been caning recently. Shaw spliced the track into several excerpts, which he weaves through his exclusive, hour-long mix that, despite the aforementioned track, is not all mellowed-out drone-ambiance. There's a substantial helping of danceable tracks here, from Konrad Black's remix of Paul Ritch to Ben Klock's minimal techno, and, of course, not to be forgotten are the David Bowie and Leonard Cohen cameos, which fit surprisingly well into the mix.

Shaw also includes a track from his Songs About Dancing and Drugs release here. Pick the full album up now from !K7.

01 Klimek – "True Enemies and False Friends (Excerpt)"
02 Tones on Tail – "Twist"
03 Klimek – "True Enemies and False Friends (Excerpt)"
04 October – "Invitation"
05 Paul Ritch – "Evil Laff (Konrad Black Remix)"
06 Leonard Cohen – "Who By Fire"
07 Klimek – "True Enemies and False Friends (Excerpt)"
08 Rational Youth – "City of Night"
09 Klimek – "True Enemies and False Friends (Excerpt)"
10 Virtual Boy – "X & Y"
11 Ben Klock – "Subzero"
12 Audio Soul Project – "Reality Check (Vincenzo Remix)"
13 Repeat Repeat – "Homestop Welcome"
14 Folk Implosion – "Raise The Bells"
15 David Bowie - "A New Career In A New Town"
16 Klimek – "True Enemies and False Friends (Excerpt)"
17 Circlesquare – "Stop Taking (So Many)"
18 Klimek – "True Enemies and False Friends (Excerpt)"

Subscribe to this podcast: iTunes or mp3 format. For help, click here.

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)