Podcast 74: XLR8R Presents Shadow Dancer


The last time XLR8R ran a podcast with this many tracks, we had to present the thing in two installments for the sake of not killing our readers’ computers with Titanic-size files. Not so here. Mancunian duo Shadow Dancer has managed to squeeze 42 tracks into 50 minutes, which means the entire mix is ready for download here and also well-tailored for music heads that have short attention spans.

Music-wise, Paul and Al Farrier stayed close—though not glued—to 4/4 territory, whether in the form of Chicago house stalwart Joe Smooth's "Promised Land" or the disco-drenched remix of Chromeo's 2004 hit "Needy Girl." There isn't a whole lot of time to catch your breath while listening, but maybe the Farriers needed to expend some nervous energy they're probably feeling in anticipation of next week, which will see their debut album, Golden Traxe, hit the shelves via Boys Noize Records.

In the meantime, have your fill of disco, techno, house, and Prince.

Shadow Dancer
01 The Parallax Corporation - "Whore of the Floor"
02 Franz Ferdinand - "Ulysses (Beyond the Wizard's Sleeve Remix)"
03 Grace Jones - "Williams' Blood (Aeroplane Remix)"
04 John Carpenter - "The End (Part 1: Disco Version)"
05 LFO - "You Have to Understand"
06 Joe Smooth - "Promised Land"
07 Prince - "Controversy"
08 Elecktroids - "Future Tone"
09 Rainer Werner Bassfinder - "Minimal Scarf Fuckers Drown!"
10 Zapp - "More Bounce to the Ounce"
11 Telex - "Moskow Diskow"
12 Nightmares on Wax - "Sal Batardes"
13 Pet Shop Boys - "Being Boring (Extended Mix)"
14 The Paradise - "I'm in Love with You"
15 The Cars - "Candy-O"
16 Herbie Hancock - "Rockit"
17 Luke Vibert - "Propertronics"
18 Shadow Dancer - "Together"
19 Fantom - "Faithfull"
20 The Bucketheads - "Whew!"
21 Zoot Woman - "Living in a Magazine (Paper Faces Remix)"
22 Octave One - "Black Water"
23 Friendly Fires - "On Board"
24 Jedi Knights - "Public Funk"
25 Hashim - "Al-Naafyish"
26 Chromeo - "Needy Girl (Shadow Dancer Remix)"
27 Alan Braxe & Fred Falke - "Intro"
28 Infiniti - "Game One"
29 The Plan - "Escapism"
30 Clark - "New Year Storm"
31 Carl Craig - "A Wonderful Life"
32 Giorgio Moroder - "From Here to Eternity"
33 New Order - "Perfect Kiss"
34 Mr. De' - "Superugly"
35 Silicone Soul - "Right on 4 Tha Darkness"
36 Ric Ocasek - "Jimmy Jimmy"
37 Superdiscount - "Fast Track"
38 Bandulu - "Weak Heart"
39 Clor - "Good Stuff"
40 Underworld - "Born Slippy"
40 Visage - "Frequency 7"
42 Daft Punk - "Superheroes"

Subscribe to this podcast: iTunes or mp3 format. For help, click here.

Download MP3
Download M4A (iTunes enhanced)
Subscribe to Podcast (RSS)