Black Milk Popular Demand - XLR8R

Black Milk Popular Demand

Author:
Publish date:

In the tradition of Dilla and Ta'Raach, Black Milk represents Motown's hip-hop landscape with fiery flows and battle-ready beats. Milk's style recalls Method Man's surging, visually poetic verses, the kind that hit your cranium with acute urban imagery and vicious metaphors. "Sound the Alarm," with roughneck MC Guilty Simpson, is signature 313 hip-hop: distressed snares, spacey soul samples, and dropouts that punctuate like aural potholes. "Say Something," which features Nametag and Slim S.D.H., sounds like Madlib and Oh No on a Kanye beat as pianos and Michael McDonald samples tiptoe around Milk-and-crew's stop-start verses.